The main building of the Monte Verità hotel complex is the Bauhaus Hotel. It was built between 1927 and 1929 by the architect Emil Fahrenkamp, commissioned by Baron Eduard von der Heydt, a German banker and art collector who was the penultimate owner of the hill.
The Hotel has a unique charm: not only does the building boast original features and Bauhaus furnishings, but its internal geometries frame views of the lush parkland, Lake Maggiore and the surrounding mountains.
The Hotel won the prestigious ICOMOS "Historic Hotel of the Year" award in 2013.
The rooms, almost all of which have lake view and generously sized balconies, were recently restored in the Bauhaus style. All rooms have their own bathroom with bath tub or shower, telephone and free Wi-Fi connection.